Skip to main content
Community Leaders Attend Iowa Great Places Annual Meeting in Perry
Mason City Great Places Delegation -
Posted on Tuesday September 10, 2019

Community leaders from Mason City traveled to Perry this week to attend the 2019 Iowa Great Places Annual Meeting.

City Administrator Aaron Burnett, Development Services Director Steven Van Steenhuyse, Grant Administrator Beth Enright, Chamber Director Robin Anderson and Main Street Director Emily Ginneberge met with other Great Places leaders from across the state to discuss community development, public art and parks and trail-way art. They also heard 2017 Iowa Artist Fellow Jennifer Drinkwater give a presentation about the ways arts and culture can transform community development into creative placemaking and build social capital, bridge diverse local communities and drive economic development. Drinkwater is the Community Arts Specialist for Iowa State University Extension and Outreach.

The Iowa Great Places program recognizes and partners with communities who cultivate the unique and authentic qualities of their local places, such as neighborhoods, districts or regions, to make them great places to live and work. Iowa Great Places receive access to funding opportunities, professional development training, technical assistance opportunities, a network of vibrant communities and passionate leaders, and other state and local resources.

“Iowa is becoming a more culturally vibrant state with communities that have world-class arts, beautiful streetscapes and a blend of well-preserved historic properties and new buildings," said Chris Kramer, Director of the Iowa Department of Cultural Affairs. "This program has been a big part of that success by investing in arts, media, culture and historic preservation as a way to boost quality of life, grow economic opportunities and make our communities more attractive to visitors and residents. We're proud to partner with our Iowa Great Places and congratulate them on their success."

A list of Iowa Great Places and the year each was accepted into the program follows. Communities with an asterisk were newly designated or re-designated in 2019 and received an award at the meeting.

Adams County, 2006*

Ames Main Street Cultural District, 2017

Appanoose County Seat District, 2007

Bondurant, 2016

Boone Forks Region, 2010*

Burlington Downtown Riverfront Improvements District, 2017

Cedar County, 2018

Cedar Valley, 2009*

Cedar-Wapsi Recreational Corridor, 2014*

Charles City, 2007*

Clinton, 2005*

Clive Greenbelt, 2019*

Coon Rapids and Whiterock Conservancy, 2005

Council Bluffs South Main Cultural District, 2017

Davenport’s Main Street Landing, 2007

Decorah, 2007

Des Moines 6th Avenue, 2015

Dubuque Driftless North End, 2006

Dubuque: Steeple Square, 2016

Fairfield Central District, 2006*

Forest City, 2016

Grinnell, 2014*

Guttenberg, 2006

Iowa City/Coralville/North Liberty, 2009

Lake View, 2019*

Madison County, 2014*

Malvern, 2016

Manning, 2014

Maquoketa, 2016

Marion, 2009

Marshalltown, 2014*

Mason City - Willow Creek Downtown Corridor Development, 2006*

Ports of Discovery, 2008*

Perry, 2007

Raccoon River Valley Trail, 2014*

Sioux City Downtown & Riverfront, 2005*

Turkey River Recreational Corridor, 2009

Valley Junction, 2007*

Villages of Van Buren County, 2009

West Union, 2008*


The Iowa Great Places program is overseen by the Iowa Arts Council, a division of the Iowa Department of Cultural Affairs. More information is available at or 515-281-5111.

Photo courtesy of Great Places of Iowa

| , MO
Contact Us  |  Site Map  
City of Mason City
10 First Street NW, Mason City, IA 50401    |    641-421-3600    |    Contact Us
City Hall office hours are 8:00 a.m.-4:30 p.m. Monday-Friday.
Water/Utility Billing Closes at 4:00 p.m. City Hall is closed on major holidays.
Site Map    |    Disclaimer    |  Powered by MunicipalCMS
E-notify RSS Feeds Twitter Facebook